Ruby Zurich – Conversion of the Office Building Du Pont

Client PSP Properties, Zürich
Architects monoplan, Zürich
Planning 2017-2019
Execution 2019-2020
Services Structure and excavation:
Competition
Design phase
Tender documentation phase
Execution phase
Topics Structural steelworkIndustry/tradeTimber constructionRefurbishmentConservationConcrete construction

PSP Properties AG intends to upgrade the existing building and convert it into a hotel.

The two-wing building, constructed in 1912/13, is part of a building complex with an inner courtyard and consists of a basement, ground and mezzanine floor, as well as six upper floors. The supporting structure of the building consists mainly of reinforced concrete ribbed slabs which are supported on beams and rest on a column grid. The building is listed in the inventory of protected objects of art and cultural history. Selected elements of the building, namely the façade and the supporting structure including the reinforced concrete ribbed ceilings are subject to preservation order. Therefore, the existing load-bearing structure is basically maintained in the course of the conversion and, where necessary, reinforced.

The slender ribbed slabs are reinforced by a thin 40 mm overlay of Ultra-High Performance Fiber Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) layer on top of the existing slab. The suitability of this reinforcement concept was confirmed by load-bearing capacity tests at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ).

In the Waisenhausstrasse wing, the existing cinema hall will be replaced by a new ceiling and a mezzanine floor. The ceiling above the basement and the floor slab including the foundations will be replaced in order to transfer the greater loads into the ground. In the Beatenplatz wing, the loads are cumulated, hence special reinforcements of the existing support structures and various static interventions are planned for the installation of a building services platform in the top floor. The flat foundation in the basement will be retained and locally reinforced with additional micropiles. The access section will be completely replaced. The new walls and the doublings in the intermediate section serve (together with the doublings in the wings) to absorb the horizontal effects of wind and a potential earthquake. The whole building will also be fire proofed.

Ruby Zürich – Umnutzung Geschäftshaus Du Pont

Bauherrschaft PSP Properties, Zürich
Architekten monoplan, Zürich
Planung 2017-2019
Realisierung 2019-2020
Leistungen Tragwerk und Baugrube:
Wettbewerb
Projektierung
Submission
Realisierung
Themen DenkmalschutzErhaltung/InstandsetzungHolzbauStahlbauBetonbauIndustrie/Gewerbe

Die PSP Properties AG beabsichtigt, das bestehende Bauwerk zu ertüchtigen und als Hotel umzunutzen.

Der zweiflügelige, in den Jahren 1912/13 erstellte Bau ist Teil eines Gebäudekomplexes mit Innenhof und besteht aus Unter-, Erd- und Zwischengeschoss sowie sechs Obergeschossen. Das Tragwerk des Gebäudes besteht hauptsächlich aus Stahlbetonrippendecken, welche auf Unterzügen gelagert sind und auf einem Stützenraster aufliegen. Das Gebäude ist im Inventar der kunst- und kulturhistorischen Schutzobjekte eingetragen. Ausgewählte Elemente des Bauwerks, namentlich die Fassade und die Tragstruktur inklusive der Stahlbeton Rippendecken unterstehen dem Denkmalschutz. Entsprechend wird im Zuge des Umbaus die bestehende Tragkonstruktion grundsätzlich erhalten und ggf. verstärkt.
Die schlanken Rippendecken werden durch eine dünne 40 mm bewehrte UHFB-Schicht (Ultrahochfester Beton) auf der bestehenden Decke verstärkt. Die Eignung dieses Verstärkungskonzept wurde mittels Tragfähigkeitsversuchen an der IBK der ETH Zürich bestätigt.

Im Flügel Waisenhausstrasse wird der bestehende Kinosaal durch eine neue Geschossdecke und ein Zwischengeschoss ersetzt. Die Decke über UG und die Bodenplatte inklusive der Fundamente werden ersetzt, um die grösseren Lasten in den Untergrund einzuleiten. Im Flügel Beatenplatz sind aufgrund der kumulierten Last spezielle Verstärkungen der vorhandenen Abfangkonstruktionen sowie diverse statische Eingriffe für die Installation einer Haustechnik-Plattform im DG geplant. Die Flachfundation im UG wird erhalten und lokal mit zusätzlichen Mikropfählen verstärkt. Der Erschliessungsteil wird komplett ersetzt. Die neuen Wände und die Aufdopplungen im Zwischenteil dienen (gemeinsam mit den Aufdopplungen in den Flügeln) zur Abtragung der horizontalen Einwirkungen aus Wind und Erdbeben. Ebenfalls wird das ganze Gebäude auf Brand ertüchtigt.