The first Lüchinger+Meyer Hiking Day took place on 12 June 2015, organised by the experienced Lucerne team. The starting point of the tour was Obbürgen in Canton Nidwalden, from where our scenic hiking trail gently climbed over green mats. In Ätschenried we passed the venerable Hotel Villa Honnegg (1905) to finally turn off at the Chänzeli onto the rock path, which was built between 1900 and 1905 and offered breathtaking views of Lake Lucerne. The Hammetschwand lift, a listed panorama lift with a height of 152.8 m and at the same time the highest freestanding outdoor lift in Europe, finally took us to the mountain restaurant, the highest point of our route had been reached.
In the afternoon we hiked down into the valley to Stansstad. Half way we were reminded by the soundscape and the eagerly turning cranes of the big construction site “Bürgenstock Resort” of our everyday life as engineers and constructors. After a few hours we reached our hiking destination on the lake shore, from where a ship carried us to the rustic Rigi hut at the Hotel Seeburg Luzern. There the hiking day premiere found its atmospheric finale.